When Will ITIL V3 be Discontinued?

May 25, 2021

Hopefully, you’ve seen that ITIL has undergone a refresh and update in recent years. Initially launched in February 2019 with the ITIL 4 Foundation Course, the two versions have been running side by side for the last couple of years. We’re now at the stage where V3 courses are being withdrawn.

ITIL V3 Foundation exams will be withdrawn on the 30th June 2021 – this is the last date that this exam can be taken. As the V3 Foundation will not be accepted as a pre-requisite for any of the ITIL 4 courses, if you haven’t already taken an ITIL Foundation, then our recommendation is to start now with ITIL 4.

ITIL Intermediate exams will be withdrawn on the 31st December 2021, so if you are working towards any of these qualifications, you’ll need to bear this date in mind.

ITIL Managing Professional Transition exam will be withdrawn on the 30th June 2022.

How long is ITIL v3 certification valid?

Holders of V3 qualifications will be pleased to know that these certifications do not expire and remain valid. However, it is likely that over time, employers and organizations may begin to ask for the ITIL 4 qualifications when they are recruiting.

How Can I Ensure My ITIL Qualifications Remain Valid?

You’ve committed a lot of time and effort into gaining qualifications to help you in your career, it’s natural that you’ll want to ensure that doesn’t go to waste.

If you hold 17 or more ITIL credits from the V3 scheme, then you can transition to ITIL 4 Managing Professional (the equivalent of the ITIL Expert designation). To avoid having to start at the beginning and take the Specialist / Strategist modules from ITIL 4, you can take a transition course.

Successfully passing the Managing Professional Transition (MPT) exam will mean that you are among some of the first holders of ITIL 4 Managing Professionals.

If you hold some V3 credits (but less than 17), then it may be worth continuing with the Lifecycle or Capability courses, as long as you can achieve the required 17 credits before the end of this year. You can then use the transition course to move to the latest qualification. Remember, each Lifecycle is worth 3 credits, each Capability worth 4.

If you want advice tailored to your specific needs and situation, then please get in touch!

If you were just starting out on your ITIL learning journey and have gained a Foundation qualification, plus one or two of the Intermediates, then it may be worth starting with the ITIL 4 Foundation, before progressing onto the other ITIL 4 modules. This will ensure that you have the time needed to learn, understand and apply your knowledge without the pressure of a deadline.

How Has ITIL Changed?

ITIL V3 Service lifecycle was composed of five stages and is based on a waterfall model. The newer ITIL V4 framework is based on a Service Value System (SVS) which describes how all the components and activities should work together as a system to enable value creation for the organization.

ITIL V3 Processes have moved to Practices in ITIL 4 and there are more of them! The 34 practices in ITIL 4 are divided into general management practices (such as architecture management and project management), service management practices (such as business analysis and the service desk), and technical management practices (such as deployment management).

Which ITIL 4 Courses Should I Take?

Of course, the starting point is ITIL 4 Foundation. This is a pre-requisite of continuing onto the Specialist and Strategist modules.

There is the option to use the Managing Professional Program to achieve MP designation, this is a program which includes the three ITIL Specialist courses and the ITIL Strategist course.

The Foundation can also be included if required.

If you are looking for the most suitable single ITIL 4 MP module according to past V3 needs, we would suggest:

However, please feel free to contact us for further advice.

©2007-2018 IT Training Zone Ltd – a Peoplecert, EXIN and APMG accredited training organisation.
ITSM Zone is a trading name of IT Training Zone Ltd.

​Payments we accept
ITIL Verified Leader Badge
Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved.
hello world!