ITIL Practitioner Level

April 13, 2015

AXELOS have recently announced the introduction of a new level in the ITIL Scheme.
The ITIL Practitioner level will be the next step after ITIL Foundation for professionals who have already learned the basics of IT Service Management (ITSM) and the business value of well-designed and delivered services.
Addressing the demand from ITSM practitioners and organizations of all sizes worldwide, the first ITIL Practitioner exam will be available globally by the end of 2015 and will equip ITSM professionals with added practical guidance to enhance leveraging ITIL in line with their organizations’ business goals. The qualification will aim to show that IT Service Management  professionals are equipped with the skills to apply ITIL concepts in their organization.
The new qualification is not related in any way to the old Practitioner level that was present in ITIL V2.
It is envisaged that the ITIL Practitioner level will be allocated credit points that can contribute to obtaining the ITIL Expert Certification.
The first exams for this are to be available in Q4 of 2015….. it’s likely that we’ll be adding this qualification to our existing portfollio, so watch this space!

Leave a Reply

One comment on “ITIL Practitioner Level”

  1. Sorry Polly, but have to disagree cotllemepy. And while James may not criticize ITIL, I will. If your processes are working well enough to cope with BYOD, then great, but it's probably got more to do with your talent as a manager than with ITIL. James' article is not ridiculous, because he's is right, but it's not BYOD that should have prompted replacing an ITIL that has been out of date for the last fifteen years. Key among these is the thing that made ITIL, the Servicedesk if it hadn't been for that, ITIL would be as obscure now as it was for the first fifteen years of its existence. This much is clear ITIL does not even begin to scratch the surface of managing calls, incidents and problems. Not even close. Almost everything it professes about call handling is inefficient, outmoded, inflexible, bureaucratic, technocratic, devoid of management information and esoteric. With every refresh, ITIL becomes less practical and more theoretical, as it seeks to broaden its appeal rather than fix its massive flaws. ITIL is a 1990 s call-centre fad built on a 1980 s mainframe model. BYOD may be a latter-day flash in the pan, but ITIL's default fix changes to the SLA is woefully inadequate. ITIL's replacement with something that even notices the existence of the Internet, or of users, service breadth, management reporting, technicians and customer service and much more is long, long overdue. We don't need ITIL's emperor's-new-clothes process theories we need practicality, measurement, decision bases and instruction.

©2007-2018 IT Training Zone Ltd – a Peoplecert, EXIN and APMG accredited training organisation.
ITSM Zone is a trading name of IT Training Zone Ltd.

​Payments we accept
ITIL Verified Leader Badge
Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved.
hello world!