ITIL was created as a set of best practices to ensure IT services are aligned to the needs of the business and support its core processes. It demonstrates how to use IT as a way to improve, transform and grow the business, as well as create a more efficient working environment with contingencies in place.

ITIL – The 5 Core Sections

The ITIL framework is split into 5 core sections:

  • ​Service Strategy
    Service Strategy
  • ​Service Design
    Service Design
  • ​Service Transition
    Service Transition
  • ​Service Operation
    Service Operation
  • ​Continual Service Improvement
    Continual Service Improvement

These sections are documented in five volumes which cover the ITIL service lifecycle, beginning with identification of customer needs and ending with an evaluation and improvement stage.

The ITIL Certification Scheme

There are five levels of ITIL certification:

  • ​ITIL Foundation Level
    ITIL Foundation Level
  • ​ITIL Practitioner Level
    ITIL Practitioner Level
  • ​ITIL Intermediate Level
    ITIL Intermediate Level
  • ​ITIL Expert Level
    ITIL Expert Level
  • ​ITIL Master Level
    ITIL Master Level
ITIL Service Strategy Training by ITSM Zone
Service Strategy
Service Design
Service Transition
Service Operation
Continual Service Improvement

These levels gradually give you a deeper understanding of ITIL. The level you go up to entirely depends on you and your organisation’s need to better understand the ITIL framework. The Foundation level will offer you a general understanding of the key elements, concepts and terminology of the ITIL life cycle, including how each stage links to one another and their wider contribution to service management.

Expert and master levels are for those who want to demonstrate knowledge of ITIL in its entirety, including the ability to demonstrate knowledge and understanding of how and why you have personally implemented ITIL frameworks in your organisation. The levels in between help build on the knowledge you gained during the Foundation level. More information can be found on the individual training pages.